Choice

choice

None of us chooses to be born, and none of us chooses that we will die. The only choice we can make is to go on.

Some days the choice to go on is so glorious and easy, that we forget it’s a choice at all. Other days the choice is so difficult that we don’t know how we’ll get out of bed and put one foot in front of another. I’m feeling blessed to be in one of the easier times at this moment, but at this “experience” level in life, I’ve learned how fleeting that is. I know that at any moment things could change, and I could find myself fighting to walk through knee deep mud, filled with creatures and sharp objects in complete darkness. In fact, I know it’s coming…it’s inevitable. I just don’t know when, or what new tipping point will once again change my life.

In the meantime, I will choose to ignore that eventuality. I will tell myself the lie that since today is good, then tomorrow will be, too. And it probably will be…until it isn’t. Then, I will still tell myself that tomorrow will be good, knowing that someday–once again–it will be.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.'”  –Eleanor Roosevelt

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

