Orphans

IMG_3072

I’ve found a new song I love, Orphans of God by Avalon. The music builds to a point that feels like the kind a flash mob in Heaven must form around…spontaneous and joyful. I can see it so clearly in my mind every time I hear it. But the concept expressed by the title is really my favorite part. “There are no orphans of God”…what a wonderful idea!

I think that idea particularly resonates with me as the mother of two girls who once carried the label “orphan”. We all know the technical definition of the word, but there are profound layers of depth to being an orphan that I hadn’t remotely understood until the concept was made flesh in my presence. Being an orphan is the ultimate poverty. When someone deposits a child in your hotel room 7,000 miles from home with only the soiled clothes on their backs, you just begin to understand poverty. But when it dawns on you that the vastly bigger void in this small, defenseless person’s life is the lack of a fierce defender who loves them, only then does the true meaning of poverty become achingly clear. I can’t see a picture of an orphan today and not grieve deeply for their loss. The two lights of my life daily illustrate the stark difference that filling that void makes.

I think this stark understanding is why the thought of “no orphans of God” means so much to me. We all feel lost, alone, and abandoned at times. We all see those around us, sometimes those we love, who wander. It is awesomely reassuring to know that, no matter where I am or how messed up things seem to be, that God has not forgotten me and loves me profoundly. I am never alone. I am loved.

“For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  –Romans 8:38-39

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

