Healed


I’ve started working on my book again. I haven’t touched it in exactly a year, by far the worst year of my life. It may not sound like a big deal, but it’s huge…it means I’m healing.

When you go through a crisis, you go into survival mode. I’ve never had to operate from there before. Many of you reading this will know what it’s like, having been there yourselves. Sometimes I’m almost ashamed to admit how difficult it was for me – after all, it wasn’t war, or holocaust, or natural disaster, or any of the other extreme hardships we read about in biographies. I never went hungry or lost my freedom. I was with my family and friends through it all. I had money. It couldn’t have been that bad.

All I know is that it was the hardest thing I’ve ever been through, wondering if we would be a whole family when it was over, wondering if our daughter would be coming home. Wondering when we would all be together again, leading our normal lives. Wondering if I was strong enough to get her and me and all of us through it, having more than a few moments when I wasn’t.

It has taken a long time to feel normal again, longer than…well, I want to say longer than I expected, but it’s not like I had any idea of what to expect. Regardless, it’s only this week that I’ve felt like picking the book back up again. I’m beyond grateful to my co-author and friend Christine for her patience with me at this long pause. We’ve done good work, and now it’s time to finish the job. Our goal for this book all along has been simple:  to change the world, or at least the corner of it that we touch. We want to empower people to own their careers, to not allow the failures of corporate America to suck the life out of another soul. I now feel strong enough to pick that torch back up and do what I can to help others. So many helped me to heal this past year; it is now my turn to try to return the favor.

“I think writing really helps you heal yourself. I think if you write long enough, you will be a healthy person. That is, if you write what you need to write, as opposed to what will make money or what will make fame.”  –Alice Walker

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

One response to “Healed

Leave a Reply

