Fraud

IMG_1541.JPG

I have a confession to make to those of you who read my blog: I’m a fraud. Much of what I write in terms of how I intend to live my life is aspirational. I do believe in all of it, but that doesn’t mean I’m actually living it consistently.

If you’ve read very many of my posts, you’ve seen the handful of themes I struggle with. Faith, fear, and doubt are one big, interconnected triangle, while my constant push to become a better human being–focused less on myself and more on others–is the other. Writing about my challenges is powerful therapy, forcing me to articulate what it is that I’m really struggling with. It structures my contemplation, requiring me to come to some sort of conclusion versus denial or avoidance. That said, I often find myself too afraid, too angry, or just feeling too sorry for myself to live up to my own lofty goals.

This is where all of you come in. While the act of writing helps me think through what I need to do, putting it out there holds me accountable to actually do it. I still fail, but sometimes I don’t. And you help me do better. Thank you for the help – I owe you.

“If you want to improve, be content to be thought foolish and stupid.” –Epictetus

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

One response to “Fraud

Leave a Reply

