What’s Your Story?

Sometimes I’m amazed that I keep finding things to write about, and sometimes I’m amazed that I can’t think of anything to write about at all. I’m always amazed at writers who can write every day. I’m just not inspired that often. Don’t they have bad days that kick their butt, leaving them in a vegetative state on the couch? One of my new writer friends wrote a daily inspirational piece during Christmas. It was only for a month, but still impressive.

I keep a running list of blogs I’ve started all the time. Some are just a title, a quote, or a link to an interesting article, but this way I always have an idea to choose from on the (many) weeks I’m not inspired. Some of the ideas aren’t likely to ever see the light of day, like the astounding fact that Vladimir Putin may be the richest man in the world. I know the Obamas are rich lawyers, but at a net worth of $2-12M, the contrast to Putin’s $50-70B is stark. I’m thinking he likely didn’t make that as a KGB agent, which means the Russian presidency evidently pays well. Makes you think about themes like true democracy and capitalism, but it’s probably not enough for a whole story on its own. Or like most of America seemed to, I had an opinion on the recent Duck Dynasty controversy. But when the airwaves became so inundated with every possible perspective that it drowned out real news, I decided not to give the non-story one more instant of air time. I couldn’t have improved on the countless commentaries, anyway (my favorite here).

The reality is that everyone has a story…human existence is nothing but billions of stories. Each day, for each one of us, is its own mini-story:  some interesting, some boring, some uplifting, some tragic. I don’t know how long I’ll keep writing these, but when I stop, it won’t be because there’s nothing left to say. I’ll leave you with a friend’s awesome get-to-know-you question: “What’s your story?” I’ll just bet it’s cool.

“There’s no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”  –Maya Angelou

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

