Friendship

I had lunch yesterday with a friend I hadn’t seen in more than 25 years. I wondered if it would be awkward or if we’d pick up where we left off…luckily it was the latter. A new friend pointed out not long ago that our friendships are diverse and cover a broad range of experiences. You can go years without seeing some friends, and it doesn’t matter, while others have expectations of the friendship which ends as soon as they’re not met. This friend said she had struggled with that until she learned to accept that some friendships just aren’t destined to last. It is ok for them to simply be good for that time and place. I liked that.

Having moved companies and states multiple times, I’ve had to accept this reality that not all friendships are long-term. This knowledge always makes the decision to leave bittersweet, but I tell myself there will be awesome new friends to make at the new place, and there always are. The friendships that fade with time or distance are sad but expected…the only ones which really bother me are the ones which disappear suddenly for reasons unknown. I’ve only had a couple of those, but each left a scar.

Social media has been a blessing for reconnecting and keeping up with friends from the past. Surprisingly, I’m even closer to some of them now than I was then, from regular exchanges and keeping up with their lives. My friends have always made life worthwhile, but even more so as I get older. Most of you who are reading this are probably reading this because you are my friend. Thank you for enriching my life; I owe you more than you can ever know.

“I value the friend who for me finds time on his calendar, but I cherish the friend who for me does not consult his calendar.”  –Robert Brault

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

One response to “Friendship

Leave a Reply

