1500 Mondays

If we live to be 80 years old, we will each have about 4,000 Mondays over the course of our lives. Given where I’m at in that journey, I have about 1,500 of those Mondays left. If the longevity that runs on my mother’s side passes down to me, I could find myself with considerably more than that. But of course, none of ever gets a guarantee, even for tomorrow. I recently found myself not looking forward to my Monday. I realized how silly that seemed, leading me to do the math above.

Why would I want to spend my life dreading one-seventh of it? Human beings are funny. For some reason, it’s too easy to focus on what we don’t have instead of what we have. We all do it, including us optimists. Even on those days that just need to end, there’s almost always something redeeming about each day if we just look: a sunrise that takes my breath away, that unexpected kind gesture from a coworker, or simply coming home to my family. Some days are better than others, but most days are still largely what I make of them. Every time I decide that, I prove it to myself again in spades.

As it turned out, that Monday I dreaded I got to have lunch with a new friend and met with a group of female leaders to advance women in our organization, something I’m passionate about. And as always, I got to come home to my wonderful family. Not bad for a Monday.

“I have a new philosophy. I’m only going to dread one day at a time.” ¬†–Charles M. Schulz

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

