Pity Party

I’d been feeling a bit sorry for myself recently for some less than perfect things in my new job. It doesn’t matter what they were, just the normal, minor challenges that happen anywhere. I’ve always set as high a bar for my work life as I have for myself, and I sometimes let those small disappointments get to me, when deep down I know I’m being unrealistic and expecting too much. One of the things that contributed to being a little down was having walked away from much of my support system when we moved. Everyone needs that group of people who will just listen and understand. I’ve long found being a leader can be lonely; being a leader in a new company is even more so. Though I’ve already made a few new friends, a four-month relationship is a far cry from the battle-tested friends who know where your scars and tender spots are.

One morning last week, I got tired of how I was feeling, tired of allowing myself to feel that way. I reminded myself what kind of leader I want to be, and resolved to be that person. I know what I need to do. I know what my team needs. I know how to make an impact. And I know that leaders lead even when it’s not easy. I showed up to work differently that day. It wasn’t outwardly obvious, but I hope it will be increasingly visible. I can only say for sure that it’s already made a difference…to me. I immediately felt better and had more fun.

We spend our lives never knowing the full impact we have on others. We must instead choose to operate with faith that our actions do make a difference. I am again acting with that faith.

“Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.”  –Winston Churchill

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

