Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

I saw a plaque years ago that said “Mirror, mirror on the wall – I am my mother after all.” It rings true for me. I look like my mother (people who know her will stop me and say “You must be Kathy Welch’s daughter…”), and our personalities are a lot alike. While I am a big believer in nature over nurture, the cause in my case doesn’t matter – I got a double dose. And I am glad. My mother was a pioneer, working her way into management in the mid-70’s when there were very few women in those roles. She also served a term as president of the International Customer Service Association, traveling nationally and speaking to large groups. She showed me with her life that I could do anything I wanted, and so I always believed I could. The first thing I remember wanting to be when I grew up was an astronaut…I was maybe 5 years old. That didn’t last (I’m too much of a chicken), but I never saw limits to what I could do. I owe my success to being my mother’s daughter, and I am working hard to pass that along to my own daughters. Happy Mother’s Day Mom – you are my hero!

“All that I am, or hope to be, I owe to my angel mother.”  –Abraham Lincoln

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

