Change

In a way, my job is all about change; my team designs our company’s new processes as we undergo a major new systems implementation. Why do people hate change? I have resented some life changes, particularly when they have separated me from those I care about. But I remind myself that changes have also brought special new people into my life. As the saying goes, change is the only thing that’s constant, and adaptability to change is advantageous to our survival. So why do we seem programmed to fight it? Different people have different sized comfort zones. I’ve always thought of mine as a kind of box inside of which I am comfortable while outside I am not. For some reason, as we get older our comfort zones seem to naturally shrink. I have tried to live my life to push constantly outward on its boundaries in an unending battle to keep it from closing in on me. I pray simply for the courage and strength to continue doing so.

“All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.”   –Anatole France

 “It’s the most unhappy people who most fear change.”  –Mignon McLaughlin

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

