It’s Not My Book

The book is out, the book is out!! Three years and seven months after I began, it’s finally in finished form. A real book, just like any other, with a cover and book flaps and a table of contents. To anyone else, it’s just another book.  But to me it’s not just another book…it’s three years of effort.  What’s funny, though, is that I keep calling it “the book” instead of “my book”.  I know I wrote it, but I don’t really feel like it’s mine.  We’re all a product of our circumstances, the most important of which are outside of our control.  I didn’t choose to be born into a white middle class family in the world’s richest country.  Studies show that the single biggest predictor of our economic status is that into which we are born.  I realize that we as individuals shape our destinies as well, and there are many examples—both directions—of people moving beyond the circumstances of their birth.  But I didn’t choose having parents who read to me, or having close extended family who helped me create a solid emotional foundation, or being raised in the American Midwest where education is valued and invested in.  And I most certainly didn’t choose the idea that came to me in a dream three and a half years ago that resulted in this book.  Nor did I realize that the colleague at work who shared similar tastes in books would provide valuable editing, or that a good friend’s art history major would provide unexpected and needed references.  So while I’m now technically an author who’s created a copyrighted work, I feel like a facilitator instead of an author.  A facilitator for an idea that wasn’t mine, assembled with gifts I’m largely not responsible for, with much assistance which I was blessed to receive.  I am truly blessed, not as an author but in life, family, and friends.

“I praise the Lord here today. I know that all my talent and all my ability comes from him, and without him I’m nothing and I thank him for his great blessing.”  –Ernie Harwell

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

