Therapy for Self-Pity

recent blog by Suzy of ‘Share the Spiritual’ has reminded me of a practice I got from an article several years ago that encouraged including 5 things you’re thankful for in your prayers.  Through that practice, I’ve learned that when you focus on what you’re grateful for, it’s difficult to remain sorry for yourself or depressed.  As I sit here on my deck on an Indian summer evening while my daughters rake leaves and play with the dogs, I am thankful at this moment for:

1)   The innocent play of children

2)   Puppies

3)   Flowers

4)   The change of seasons

5)   The peace that comes with growing older

I have found that no matter how bad my day or how deep my problems seem to be, I am always able to quickly find 5 things for which I am thankful, which just serves to remind me how blessed I am.  And that always makes me feel better.  So next time you have a bad day, try thinking of 5 things you are grateful for.  It’s a sure cure for your bad day.

“Appreciation is the highest form of prayer, for it acknowledges the presence of good wherever you shine the light of your thankful thoughts.”  –Alan Cohen

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

