Having my cake

In my department we have a tradition: when someone leaves, we have cake and a slide show of pictures from our global travels. Today was my turn. I’ve dreaded this day since coming to the team. I’ve fought back tears at many of these, how was I going to get through my own without turning into a sobbing mess? I did better than I thought, but finally lost it when a good friend said some nice very things (thanks Maria). But I think that is a good sign: a sign that the people who’ve walked with me part of my life journey made an impact. As I’ve told several, it’s a good thing we’re not just co-workers but also friends, because friendship lives on. So long but not ‘goodbye’ my friends…I won’t be far, and I’ll be in touch.

“Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together? I guess that wouldn’t work. Someone would leave. Someone always leaves. Then we would have to say good-bye. I hate good-byes. I know what I need. I need more hellos.”  –Charles M. Schulz

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

Leave a Reply

