Please don’t give me a Blackberry!

I’m a recovering workaholic. There, I said it. I’ve been an overachiever all of my life – always thinking, always in motion. I’ve often wondered why, but I really have no idea. One of my daughters is the same way – it’s like looking in a mirror. But mirrors are one-dimensional and provide no answers. I’ve worked hard on it over the last 5 years or so and have made good progress. I sleep and eat more regularly, and I even (gasp) exercise. And I work fewer hours than ever before…still maybe more than I should, but I’ve found a balance that works for me. I feel better than I ever have. But a friend gave me a wake up call this week:  she works in a group I’m moving to next month. I responded to her Facebook post that she should work fewer hours, and she pointed out that was ironic coming from me. I haven’t worked with her since I gained my new balance, and it was a good reminder that I will need to work hard to regain it under the pressures of a new job and a system implementation environment. But it’s critically important:  I don’t want to give up my life…again. I missed too much with my family in the past. A friend just published a compelling post on his blog about the importance of how we spend our time. A great reminder.

So I’m really hoping I don’t have to carry a Blackberry in my new job.  I don’t want to be plugged in 24/7…again.

“Time is free, but it’s priceless.  You can’t own it, but you can use it.  You can’t keep it, but you can spend it.  Once you’ve lost it you can never get it back.”   –Harvey MacKay

About Kelly J. McCleary

Wife and mother of three, author, financial professional View all posts by Kelly J. McCleary

2 responses to “Please don’t give me a Blackberry!

  • Michael Rogers

    I have also been thinking about this topic, trying to figure out how much of the problem is my insecurity about my job, how much is an expectation or requirement of the business, and how much is simply my inability to manage the expectation.

    Although my exposure working outside “big corporate” is limited, I tend to believe that corporations are worse than smaller businesses. The corporate focus is invariably the bottom line and the top dollar. To that end they expect more and more of their people and have less regard for the quality of their lives. They pay a little more (sometimes more than a little) and then expect you to sacrifice your family and social life.

    I realize that I am also part of the problem. In my job I feel that if I am not working the extra hours or not available 24 hours a day then somehow I am failing my company and my co-workers. And yes, perhaps there is an element of fear that if I don’t do these things then someone else will and I will either lose favor or even lose my job. The thought of appearing a failure, and worse the thought of negatively affecting the standard of living of my family, keeps me a slave to that fear.

    I can only hope that I learn to manage the expectation better. I’d like to believe that I can continue to provide significant value to the company without giving my life to them. I’m still searching for that balance but I think the business is still heavily favored.

    Like

Leave a Reply

